Skip to main content
Sky Alland Logo

The Sky Alland Scholarship is a full scholarship awarded to a rising fourth-year student who exemplifies the qualities that helped Sky make his mark not just on the world, but on those around him.

Laughlin Ryan

Laughlin Ryan

2023 Winner

Laughlin Ryan

Cavalier women’s soccer midfielder Laughlin Ryan, who turned injury into opportunity, has won the University of Virginia’s prestigious Sky Alland Scholarship.

The award, which covers full tuition and fees for the next academic year, recognizes a rising fourth-year student who demonstrates leadership, achievement, enterprising spirit, humility and devotion to the University.

After a trio of ACL injuries sidelined her from the soccer pitch, Ryan co-founded UNCUT at UVA, which gives student-athletes an outlet to share their stories, challenges and experiences. She has continued to work to rehabilitate her injuries and to inspire her teammates with her perseverance.

An interdisciplinary neuroscience major with a health and wellness minor, Ryan is involved in several other activities, including volunteering for community service through UVA’s Madison House; tutoring in local schools; and as a fellow of Team IMPACT, a national organization that matches children facing serious illnesses and disabilities with college sports teams.

The merit-based Sky Alland award is one of UVA’s most competitive undergraduate scholarships. This year’s six finalists, selected from a large pool of applicants and feted in a dinner in the Rotunda, represented an array of undergraduate study and activities. The scholarship’s alumni selection committee, whose membership includes several past recipients, then chose Ryan.

“Laughlin demonstrates a commitment to excellence, supporting fellow student-athletes across Grounds, as well as making an impact in the greater community, all while excelling academically,” said Ruth Haile, who chairs the Sky Alland Scholarship Endowment. “She represents the ideals of the Sky Alland Scholarship, and we are delighted she is the 2022-23 scholarship recipient.”